Skip to content

Buried Treasure

October 26, 2010

There’s nothing like finding buried treasure on top (or inside?) of buried treasure.

 

One of my local thrift shops is offering a half-off deal for books all October, so I did some digging this weekend and came home with three vintage hardcovers – and a little surprise.

The first, an undated edition of Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass, caught my eye because of its art deco-worthy green cover.

If I had to guess, I would say it was published in the late 1940s/early 1950s (probably since the pattern reminds me of wallpaper from that era) but it could have been later because it’s in awfully good condition for being that age, though the pages are somewhat yellowed. Unfortunately, I can’t find any info on it whatsoever online. So if you have any details, by all means, let me know!

The next book I grabbed is a lot less rare, but I just couldn’t help myself. 

I have a soft spot for these Ginn Readers. Even though schools probably stopped using these well before I was born, my parents collected them, so I grew up reading about Tom, Susan, Betty and their buddies. This 1961 copy of Roads to Everywhere features just the kind of adventures you’d think a Space Age era kid would want to read about – dog sled races in Alaska, missions to the moon and a (politically incorrect) battle of frontiersmen vs. Indians. I haven’t listed this one yet, but plan to soon.

I liked the cover and content of my last buy, a 1936 high school textbook, but didn’t feel there was anything particularly special about it. Until I looked inside, that is.

Flipping through the pages of Shakespeare, Chaucer and Milton, I came across a yellow hall pass from 1941. I know it’s not worth anything, but stumbling across a snippet of someone’s real life that’s been untouched for almost 60 years feels kind of like opening a mini time capsule. It reminds me of why I became interested in vintage. It’s not just about the pieces themselves, but about the people, probably not that unlike myself, who once used them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 2:02 pm

    I soooo agree! Even if it may techincally have no “value” – that hall pass is a little treasure all in itself! I do agree… 🙂

Leave a Reply

